Freedom Jazz Dancing…

I have been meaning to tackle this song for a long time – I just don’t think that my reading chops have ever been this good so it made it a lot easier. I am finding that it takes me minutes rather than hours to read a chart – any chart – and that makes me ecstatic! In my practice time today I went over Eddie Harris’s Freedom jazz dance. It was fun because… it is a fun tune! I remember seeing a video with Miroslav and Stanley Clark playing this and they started at a reasonable tempo (for them) and then just kept taking it faster and faster and I always thought that It would be devastatingly hard for me to figure out. It is hard to play fast though. Three days later I only had 1/3rd of the song memorised but I am going to refresh the memory and it should be in the trap. I also have been working on playing rhythm changes to my liking. I just don’t seem to play them all that well so I tend to stay away from them. It is time to conquer the beast. More on that soon…
DSC_0322
I also am desperately trying to finish these nasty enharmonic minor scales… It is absolutely draining!
I don’t even care about time anymore, as long as I can get them done in a decent amount of time I am moving on! Unfortunately it is not as easy as I could hope. The end of the last exercise was really fun as I remember and also difficult for a guy like me. DSC_0324

