First full day and first time playing at SXSW (South by Southwest)

The band after the set

Yesterday I played with C.R. Smith at South by Southwest. I was nervous but excited to play in Austin, TX. The sheer number of bands made me feel pretty insignificant, but at the same time more at ease than I thought I would be. We were treated very kindly by the whole Paste and HGTV crew. C.R. played on the outside stage at a bar called Logan’s at 1:00 P.M. and we had a decent crowd for most of our show until the band inside started playing and people moved inside to check them out. We played well with a few glitches that hopefully only we noticed. I finally got to play out of an Orange amp and I didn’t mind that at all; the amps look and sound great but I wouldn’t want to haul them around! With my Sadowsky MV5 the rig was super punchy and clean. I was glad I got to try it out because I had been wanting to hear how the Orange bass amps sounded live; I was pleased.

I am missing my family like crazy, so it was nice to have them with me in spirit.

I am missing my family like crazy, so it was nice to have them with me in spirit.

After the show I felt that it was a lot of anticipation for a something that went by so quickly and I kind of got bummed out but that slowly faded. The bright side was that I was able to relax and start soaking up the craziness that is SXSW, kicking it off by seeing one of the founding members of Parliament/Funkadelic in his band the Bernie Worrell Orchestra. My longtime Billings, MT friend Pat Epley lives in Austin (and is a HUGE Bernie fan) and we got to hang out and jam to the funk that Bernie brought. Then we went East by pedi-cab

to see what was happening out side of SXSW where I was told all the cool people/locals hang. The sheer volume of different music was exciting and overwhelming! I headed back into the madness on downtown to meet up with the band at 6th avenue and caught an amazing set from Ben Sollee and his trio at the Parish. He had bass player Alana Rocklin with him and she was amazing (killer groove!!!). After that we headed up to Antone’s to catch Dead Prez followed by Macklemore and Ryan Lewis. Macklemore was amazing and I was impressed because I have never really heard anything other than his tune “Thrift shop”. He brought out guests for every song and each guest sang in a unique and amazing way. I was blown away with the presence and content of Macklemore’s songs.

At the end of the day (early morning) It felt like days had gone by since we played with all the action that was happening over the night. I am glad we were able to have that opportunity and I hope to come here next year and play. I also became smitten with the food truck Foreign and Domestic’s pulled beef tongue tacos. I like it here.

Mr. Macklemore rockin it!

Macklemore rocking out at Antone’s

Amber and Pat on a pedi-ride

Amber and Pat on a pedi-ride

The Stage and C.R. lookin' good

The Stage and C.R. lookin’ good

Foreign and Domestic!

The amazing Beef Tongue sliders

The amazing Beef Tongue sliders

PBru and Bernie
PBru and Bernie

