My vow to you: No texting whilst driving.

I have been away for a while and generating some more things to write about and I have been super busy lately with school starting again, reading, practicing, playing and hanging with family. I intend to some good stuff this year to the page, but in the meantime, I have been convicted of something that I did occasionally, and I didn’t feel like it was a problem until I saw this video that was shared by my lovely bestie and pastor Matt Blakeslee @ CMYK church (www.CMYKchurch.com).

 

Just a little before one min (but it’s all pretty good/painful):

I knew that texting while driving was bad, but I figured, “hey, I am a bad ass driver and I can intuitively perceive when something is happening around me while I am operating a machine at least ten times the weight, size, and speed of any human being; I am not like anyone else on earth.” I am/was an idiot, and so are you if you text and drive. It is a shame that our society has come to this but it is better to realise it now and stop before we make a terrible mistakes. I will try and be gracious to you who still text and swerve, whether it be above your steering wheel, inconspicuously at your steering wheel, or other modified techniques that you have evolved in your crafty schemes to not be away from your phone for five-ten minutes while traveling at alarming speeds. I will say (ladies this is not a gender slam) that I see at least three women every time I drive on their phones texting!

So, I will be not be texting while my car is in motion. This is my vow. If you see me doing so please hurt me, pride or otherwise. I plead: if you can, think about this logically. You are not any different than anyone else–stop texting and driving.

P.S. Try randomly smiling while you drive as well. We should all be so happy to get from point A to point B at 25-45 mph.

Sincerely,

Parker

